What Bad Habits? #MFRWauthor

It’s week 35 (can you believe it?) of the Marketing for Romance Writers 52-week blog challenge, and this week’s topic is My Bad Habits. Like I’d share my bad habits with the world if I even had any, right?

I don’t have bad habits. I mean, not all of my habits are good, but they’re not bad. Not really.

Lnnch Unsplash 01 small

Not my actual lunch. I might remember to eat this!

Seriously, would you say that getting too busy to remember to eat is a bad habit? Or merely an interesting habit? Maybe a slightly annoying habit. I have to set alarms on my phone to remind me to eat breakfast and lunch. The breakfast alarm is a sweet recording of my grandkids singing “Eat your breakfast,” to the tune of Beethoven’s “Ode to Joy.” Sweet as it is, I sometimes dismiss it and keep right on working. The lunch alarm is Stewie from Family Guy (I think) saying, “Mom, mom, mom, mommy…” Obnoxious as it is, I still ignore it. I mean, there is that pesky diabetes thing, which means my body is completely unable to regulate my blood sugar in a healthy way, which makes it a dangerous habit, but it’s not like smoking like a freight train or drinking to excess. It’s just…  Well, okay, maybe that one is a bad habit.

Jar 02 Unsplash smallIf you’re going to look at it from that perspective, I suppose that forgetting to drink water so I can stay hydrated is also a bad habit, right? I’ve had some frightening experiences with the heat and humidity here in Florida, and I know that staying hydrated is crucial to my well-being, but I just can’t remember to actually drink the water. I fill my cup. I place it beside my chair. And I let it sit. And sit And sit. And sit. It’s not that I want to take really poor care of myself, I just get busy doing other things and I don’t remember.

Bicycle Unsplash 02 smallWe’re not even going to talk about exercise here because I do it so infrequently, it doesn’t qualify as a habit. I hate to exercise. Mostly, I hate to sweat. Yeah, yeah, yeah. I know. Find an activity you like to do and then do that for exercise. Only there is no activity I like to do, so that doesn’t work.Would I feel better if I exercised? Probably. Even knowing that doesn’t get me past how much I hate to sweat.

This is brutal, you know. How many bad habits do you expect me to confess here? I’ll give you one more:

I procrastinate.

Laundry Unsplash 01 smallThat’s right. I do. Not everything, of course. Some things I do right when I’m supposed to. But many things I put off until later for one reason or another. I put off running errands until it’s hot and gross and sticky outside but, then, it’s never cool and pleasant, so that’s not really a thing. I put off doing housework as long as I possibly can and still stand to be in the room. I put off doing laundry until I have no choice but either buckle down or start wearing dirty things. (I never let it get that bad, but it has come close.) The house doesn’t ever get too bad, though, because as much as I dislike actually cleaning it, I love having it clean, so I don’t procrastinate too long. It’s justnot the first thing I race to do in the course of any given day.

Typewriter 02 Unsplash smallAnd I procrastinate writing when the writing is not going well. When I know I’ve written off in the wrong direction and something has gone terribly askew in the story, and I know it’s going to take a whole lot of work to figure out where I went wrong and get myself back on track. Even though I know from past experience that I spend way more energy procrastinating than I’ll ever put forth actually doing the work, I procrastinate just as long as I think I can get away with it.

But just as soon as I finish writing this blog post, I’m going to get a glass of water and grab my lunch out of the fridge and settle in to write–right after I put in a load of laundry. I promise!

This is a blog hop, so check out what the other authors participating have to say about today’s topic. Their links are below:


Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

8 thoughts on “What Bad Habits? #MFRWauthor

  1. Helen Henderson says:

    take care of that sugar and water. Taking time to eat is important. Off to set my own alarm. When I worked full time I always forgot to eat. Still have that problem, but since I test their sugar three times a day, I make sure others eat, so sometimes that reminds me to make a bite.

  2. RobinMichaela says:

    Holy moly, I can honestly say I’ve never forgotten to eat. I am, however, smack in the middle of procrastinating on my WIP right now (so doing the laundry sounds like a good idea…). I purposely got a Fitbit that nudges you to take 250 steps every hour. Yes, I ignore it…

  3. Cathy Brockman says:

    I get too busy to eat Breakfast and lunch myself and not being a fan of water it’s easy to avoid. I love your Idea of the alarms.I bet procrastination is on most of our lists.

  4. storimom2 says:

    Lately I’ve fallen into the nasty habit of forgetting to take my meds until 2pm…..yikes!

    I also have a problem with staying hydrated. I’ll pour myself a glass of iced tea, take a drink, and return to it three hours later….yuck!

  5. Linda McLaughlin says:

    Like Robin, I can honestly say I never forget to eat. My stomach reminds me, and if it doesn’t my blood sugar drops until my hands are shaking and I seriously want to kill someone. The opposite problem of diabetes, I suppose.

    But the laundry, the shopping, the housework, oh, yeah, world class procrastination.

    Seriously Sherry, you need to eat regularly and stay hydrated, esp. in Florida with all the heat and humidity.

  6. Meka James says:

    Procrastination is a big one for me. I understand your feeling on the housework. I hate having to clean house, but also not a fan of having a dirty one. Since I’ve not made enough money to afford a maid, I must do the cleaning. Sad times. Sad, sad times. LOL

Leave a Reply

