In My Spare Time #MFRWauthor

It’s week 6 on the MFRWauthor bloghop, and this week we’re supposed to talk about our hobbies. At first, I thought this would be a short blog post because I don’t really have any hobbies. But then, as I thought a bit more, I realized I actually do have a few, which made me super-excited and even a little giddy. It doesn’t take much…

24893_1369363124421_1542026138_907429_6092614_n

My uncle, my sister, my cousin and me circa…a long time ago!

I’d have to say my favorite hobby by far is hanging out with my family. I know that doesn’t sound like an actual hobby, but for me it is one. It brings me great joy, and I could do it all day long, every day. Whether it’s my 91-year-old mom, my sister, brother-in-law, and brother, my kids, my grand-kids, my nieces and nephews, aunts, uncles, or cousins, hanging out with family is my favorite way to spend my non-working hours.

Coming in at a close second would be spending tie with friends. I love to lunch with friends. I get all kinds of excited when I get to hang out with writer friends. Other writers “get” things about me that non-writers don’t. It’s not their fault. They can’t understand how my brain works because theirs doesn’t function in the same way. I don’t understand their non-writer brains either, so that makes us even.

You want more traditional hobbies?

Reading, naturally. It’s because of my love of reading that I wanted to be a writer in the first place. Sadly, becoming a writer has affected the way I read, and for a few years after I began my writing career–especially because of the writing classes I taught–I found it hard to read for pleasure. I spent so much time reading and critiquing other people’s work when I wasn’t writing and critiquing my own work, I couldn’t read anything without critiquing it. I’ve since learned how to put my nit-picky internal editor on hold while I’m reading for pleasure, which makes it pleasurable again.

counted cross stitch smallI used to love to do counted cross-stitch, but I haven’t worked n a project in a long time. My eyes just aren’t as sharp as they used to be, so the tiny stitches and even tinier codes on the patterns are hard to read.

I still love to crochet. It’s mind-soothing. Unfortunately, I now live in Florida where it’s never cool enough to have a heavy blanket spread across my lap, so I haven’t crocheted much in the past few years, either. Yes, I know there are other, smaller projects I could work on, but I’m a big project kind of gal. I rarely write short stories (never) or magazine articles (a bit less rarely) or novellas (just once) and I don’t crochet smgrace-blanketall things. Yes, I’m weird. I think we’ve established that already. Once I move to a cooler climate and feel like crocheting again, I plan to make this: That is, I’ll make that after I finish the afghan I started for a wedding present a few years ago. And after I make the promised afghans for two more great-nephews and my two granddaughters. But once those are done, I’m definitely making this.

Collecting things is another hobby. I’d probably have a house full of trinkets if I allowed myself to collect everything that appeals to me. I do try to limit myself to mugs, t-shirts, and Santa Claus figurines.

That’s about it for me. What are your hobbies?

 

5 thoughts on “In My Spare Time #MFRWauthor

  1. Meka James says:

    I’ve always admired people that can crochet. My children each have special blankets that were made for them as babies that are crocheted. My daughter’s was made by a co-worker and she started the trend. My son’s were all made by my husband’s grandmother. I still have all the blankets and they are something I’ll pass down to them when they have their own children.

  2. storimom2 says:

    I hear you on those small codes! I had to return to stamped cross-stitch for that very reason:) I ran into the same issue with needlepoint, but since the colors are stamped on the canvas, it makes it a little easier to guess:)

  3. Heather Boyd says:

    My mum was amazing at fine Crochet and blanket making but thanks to Alzheimers she can’t form a chain now. So hard to imagine, but at least I’ve got a few of her creations around my home to remind her of how great she is still.

Leave a Reply

