The Words I Live By — #MFRWauthor

Happy Friday! It’s time for another installment of the Marketing for Romance Authors 52-Week Blog Challenge. This week’s prompt is The Words I Live By.

This is actually a topic I’ve thought about before. Several years ago, while working on my writing workshop about characterization, I realized that in order to really understand a character, I needed to know what their life motto was. While not everyone in the world has a motto they’ve thought about, the strongest and most interesting characters do.

Santa 02 UnsplashRecognizing that about characters made me wonder about myself. My younger daughter had a creed she lived by: It doesn’t hurt to ask. While I don’t know that she has ever consciously admitted it, my older daughter lives by the motto: Don’t ask for anything! Those mottoes seem to inform everything my daughters do. As their mother, I can see that clearly. But what about me? What motto informs my life?

It’s kind of a hard question because, like many people I’m sure, there are more than one idea that lies at the core of who I am. Equality. Fairness. Ethics. Truth. Faith. Family. Joy. Taking responsibility for your junk. Owning your mistakes. But if I had to choose just one saying that informs every decision I make it would be:

Fall down seven times, get up eight.

Failure 01 UnsplashI wish I could say that my life has been one, long run of success. I wish I could say that my career has been one success after another, but the fact is that every life is full of trials and errors, of successes and failures. Nobody grabs the brass ring and rides the magical carousel of happiness to the end of time. Your career might soar, but your personal life might be a disaster. Your personal life might be great, but your health might fail. You might be the healthiest specimen on the planet, but your spirit feels empty. We all pay the same price in this life, we just use different coin.

Hope 01 UnsplashI’m not saying that I always feel sunny and happy no matter what happens in my world. That’s not true at all. I don’t try not to pout when something goes wrong, but I do try to limit the amount of time I spend throwing myself a pity party. I’ll give myself 24 or 48 hours to just wallow in whatever I’m feeling. After that, it’s time to figure out what I’m going to do next.

The good news is that it doesn’t matter how many times you fail, what matters is how many times you get yourself up, dust yourself off, and start all over again.

This is a blog hop, so make sure you stop by and see what the other authors are saying today. Their links are below.


Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

7 thoughts on “The Words I Live By — #MFRWauthor

  1. Meka James says:

    Reminds me of the Mythbuster’s motto: FAILURE IS ALWAYS AN OPTION. When you go into it knowing things might not work out, but you’re going to try your hardest regardless your outlook on it changes. You didn’t fail, you found out what didn’t work so you can do something differently next time.

  2. Ed Hoornaert says:

    I agree with you on knowing characters’ mottoes. This is from the part of my WIP that I edited just before reading your post (how’s that for synchronicity?):

    “It’s not like I have any friends. Never get involved, that’s my motto.”
    She didn’t really have a motto, but saying she did sounded good. Well, not good; sad, actually.

    Although she doesn’t realize it yet, this COULD be her motto, and it’s what she needs to change during over the course of the book.

Leave a Reply

