The Doors We Open and Close – #MFRWauthor

It’s Friday. Week 34 of the Marketing for Romance Authors 52-week blog challenge, and this week our prompt is Open Doors or Closed Doors?

Door 07 Unsplash smallTerrific. I have no idea what that prompt means. Is it asking whether I prefer to work with the door to my office open or closed? Is it asking if I find open doors or closed doors more intriguing? Is it asking whether I feel as if the doors in my life are open or closed? Good grief. What am I supposed to say about this topic?

Door 06 Unsplash smallAnswering the first question is easy–I prefer to work with my office door wide open. I always have. Back in my days working at the federal court, I was the only judicial assistant in our particular court who kept the door to my office open. The other two always had their doors closed. To be fair, my security cameras were located at the end of a long corridor, and that door was always kept closed so I could screen visitors and decide who could enter the judge’s secure area. I could leave the door to my office open, then, which allowed me to see the other court employees as they came and went . Of course, I was lucky. The other JAs were in a more public part of the courthouse, and their only security was the door to their office.

Here at home, the door to my office is always open, as well. I don’t like the feeling of being closed in. Even when my kids were younger, I kept the doors open so they didn’t feel as if I wasn’t somehow available to them, even though they pretty much knew that the only acceptable interruptions when  was in my office were for blood and extreme emergency.So…open when it comes to my office.

Door 04 Unsplash smallWhich do I find more intriguing? An open door or a closed door? Probably a closed door, in theory, although depending on the circumstances, I can also find a closed door off-putting. An open door sends a very clear message. It says, “Welcome! Come on in,” while a closed door says quite clerly, “Do not disturb,” or “Go away!” But in general terms, I find closed doors more intriguing. In fact, I have an entire Pinterest board devoted to “Doors I Want to Open.” I’m quite sure that at least 99% of them are closed, but, then, if they were open, I wouldn’t want to open them, would I?

Door 02 Unsplash smallDo I feel as if the doors in my life are mostly open or closed? That’s a harder one to answer. To be perfectly honest, it depends on the day, the week, the month, and the year. There have been seasons in my life where I’ve felt as if every door was firmly shut and locked, and others where I’ve felt as if the doors were flinging wide before I could even approach them. Where do I stand today? I’d say at a firm 50/50 split.

I suppose, in reality, that’s where we always are at any given time. Sometimes we open the doors through our choices, and sometimes we close them. It’s easy to blame our circumstances on fate, or luck, someone else, or God, but I’ve been around long enough to take several good, hard, long, honest looks at myself and the truth is, whenever I’ve felt as if all the doors in my life were closed and locked, I can almost always trace the reason back to one wrong choice on my part.

Door 03 Unsplash smallOn the whole, I prefer the doors in my life to be open, to luck, to opportunity, to success, and even to failure. If I’m failing, at least I know I’m trying right?

How would you answer this question?

Don’t forget, this is a bloghop, so check out how other authors participating have addressed today’s topic. You’ll find their links below.


Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

9 thoughts on “The Doors We Open and Close – #MFRWauthor

  1. Ellie Mack says:

    Great post! I’m glad I’m not the only one that didn’t get the “open door sex scene” memo. My mind just didn’t go there. Not sure why, but it didn’t.
    Thoughtful and contemplative – love this!

  2. RobinMichaela says:

    I, too, have a Pinterest board loaded with photos of doors. Some are so pretty or so unusual! You said: “whenever…the doors in my life were closed and locked, I can almost always trace the reason back to one wrong choice on my part” – that is SO true in my life, as well. Very insightful!

  3. storimom2 says:

    Speaking of doors, we have several new ones (never even drilled!) next door…Oh wait, that’s not what you meant…;)

    In my love scenes, I actually want a good mix: Door open slightly, but not every time the characters get between the sheets.

Leave a Reply

