A Day in the Life of Me! — #MFRWauthor

4

It’s week 31 of the Marketing for Romance Writers (MFRW) 52-Week Blog Challenge. (Let’s pause here for a moment to be amazed that I’ve now blogged for 31 straight weeks without missing a single entry. Are you suitably impressed? Good, then let’s move on…) This week’s prompt is A Day in My Life.

Wow. Good thing we shared that moment earlier, because I’m not sure the rest of this blog post will do much for anyone. My life is…well…boring. But in the spirit of the day, let’s give it a go.

alarm clock smallMy day usually begins at 5:00 am. Usually, but not always. If I’ve stayed up lte the night before (and that cut-off hour gets earlier all the time) I might sleep until 6:00. On the weekends, I might even stay in bed until 7:00. Or 10:00 if I’ve knocked myself out the night before. But I digress. On an ordinary day, I’m up at 5:00.

5:15 am — stumble into the kitchen and do the stuff I need to do to get my day started. Caffeine? check. Blood sugar test? check. Some days I wander over to the dining room table for a little early-morning study of some kind. Maybe a non-fiction book I’m reading, maybe a little Bible study. Whatever. I’m not always gung-ho about it, but I find my days generally go better if I include this step. Older Daughter (who is currently my roommate) stumbles out of her room around 5:30 or 5:45 to join me, at which point study is often lost to conversation, but not always.

Internal Editor Unsplash Small6:15 am – I wend my way out to the living room and pick up my laptop, where I check in on Facebook and Twitter to see what’s happened overnight. I usually schedule a few tweets and maybe a FB post while watching the local news. If this were a perfect day, I would put off this step until later and head into my bedroom to get ready for the day. I’ve found that my brain switches to work mode easier if I get up, get dressed, put on makeup, and hop in the car for a morning commute of at least 15 minutes. Must be all those years of working outside of my home. I know I should do this every day, but most days I don’t.

treadmill7:30 am – Having skipped the steps of dressing, making up my face, and commuting to work, I also skip the step of exercising on the treadmill. Yes, I know I could walk outside, but…Florida. Heat. Humidity. I tried. I gave up. If I’m going to exercise, it will be on the treadmill with the A/C blasting. But I’m on a roll now. No sense breaking into my routine, right? So I head straight to blogging and I spend about an hour working on a blog post. I try not to spend longer than an hour at this, but many days I fail.

8:30 am My phone alarm goes off with my grandkids singing to me to remember to eat my breakfast. This is especially important since being diagnosed with diabetes a couple of years ago. The diagnosis didn’t help me remember to eat on my own, however, so I set the alarm to remind me. I generally turn it off right away, but occasionally hit snooze and go back to what I’m doing–which might be actually writing something by this time in the morning. I tend to lose all track of time when I’m writing, which is another good reason for the alarm.

Breakfast 01 Unsplash small

Not my actual breakfast

9:30 am: I actually wander back out to the kitchen for breakfast, which usually consists of an apple with some peanut butter for protein. Yes, I could cook something delicious like an omelet, but that’s too much of a commitment. I try to spend 15 minutes on some household task while I’m away from the computer, and then it’s back to work.

This is where my schedule starts to get fuzzy. Afternoons are probably the hardest part of my day, simply because I tend to lose control of them. Some time between 12:30 and 2:30, I head back to the kitchen for lunch. With lunch in hand, I head back to the computer where I’ll either write some more if the writing is going well, or I’ll stop writing and spend some time on social media. I might also toss in a load of laundry or run the vacuum, but I also might not. I might leave the house to run errands, which I try to put off until afternoon because it’s such a bad time of the day for me for writing. Whatever I’m doing this time of day, I try to finish up by around 6:00, which is when Older Daughter gets home from work.

Clock Unsplash 01 mediumAnd then it’s evening, which I spend eating dinner, watching TV, and/or reading, unless I have someplace to be, in which case I’m there. I pretend that I try to get to bed by 9:00 every night, but I never actually make it. It’s usually more like 10:00 or 10:30 before I toddle off to bed. I do, occasionally, stay up later, but it’s pretty rare. I’m definitely a morning person and always have been.

Now aren’t you glad you asked?

This is a blog hop, so make sure you check out how all the other participating authors spend their days. Their links are below.


Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

Save

10 thoughts on “A Day in the Life of Me! — #MFRWauthor

  1. Helen Henderson says:

    loved the stated plan of going to be earlier. My bedtime seems to keep getting later and later. Or does 3 AM count as a get up time rather than a go-to-bed time? loved the post. routine doesn’t mean dull.

  2. Ellie Mack says:

    LOVE IT! But Florida – I mean it’s hot and humid here in Missouri but the only water here is the Mississippi and it isn’t something you should go dip your toes in. Some day, I will live in Florida, gulf side coastal with a house right on the beach or right across the road facing the beach.

    • Sherry Lewis says:

      There are a lot of lakes in Missouri, aren’t there? I used to think Missouri was horribly humid…until I moved here. We have you beat, I’m afraid 🙂 But it’s beautiful here, Gulf-side on the water, that’s for sure. I hope you achieve your dream 🙂

  3. Ed Hoornaert says:

    I sometimes wonder if early birds and night owls are two different species. I don’t care how early I went to bed, I’m useless until at least your breakfast time. If not later.

  4. Linda McLaughlin says:

    Sherry, I am indeed suitable impressed that you’ve managed to blog every Friday this year! I certainly haven’t maintained that schedule. My life is pretty boring, too, but that’s the way I like it.

  5. Meka James says:

    Man I can’t function that early in the morning. Kudos to all that can!

    My life is fairly boring as well. Wish I could say I’m jet setting around or doing really interesting things all day, but I’m not. At least you have some sort of a routine you try to maintain.

  6. Cathy Brockman says:

    You have a busy schedule too. My dad was just diagnosed with diabetes and I have been helping him get used to his new lifestyle and teach him to follow his plans.

Leave a Reply

