Tell Me a Story. Any Story — #MFRWauthor

It’s week 30 of the MFRWauthor 52 Week Blog Challenge, and this week’s topic is books: Paperback, ebook, or audio?

Honestly, for me, it doesn’t matter. I love stories. I don’t care what medium a storyteller chooses to use. I love books, I love movies, I love TV, I love hearing someone tell a story aloud, I love reading one silently to myself.

Different mediums serve different purposes in my world, and I enjoy them all.

A paperback novel is more portable than a hardcover. A paperback novel usually costs less to buy than a hardcover unless you find a great price on a hardcover in a remainder bin at your local bookstore. But hardcover books immediately transport me back to elementary school, where my teacher would hold the book just so and read aloud to us. I’ve never quite mastered that one-hand hold my teachers used, but I picture it every time I open a hardcover book, especially an older book I’ve checked out from the library.

Ebooks are even more portable than paperbacks, and it’s definitely easier to move 3,000 books on an ereader than in boxes. I find it interesting that kids, whom everyone assumed would prefer electronic books, seem to prefer hard copy of some kind. During their recent visit, I offered to buy my granddaughters a couple of books for their Kindles, and both opted for print books instead. I’ve read several studies that indicate this is the trend in younger readers. Who expected that?

Books Unsplash.jpgI thought I was a book hoarder before ebooks came along, but now, thaks to the cloud and the storage space on my Kindle, I own more books than I, my children, and my grandchildren can possibly read in our lifetimes. And I just keep accumulating more. As I get older and my eyesight changes (thanks, Diabetes) I’ve found that another feature of the ereader I like a lot is the ability to adjust the font. I miss the tactile feel of turning pages and the fun of collecting bookmarks to use in my ebooks, but let’s face it: I already own too many bookmarks anyway.

I rarely listen to audio books when I’m home, but I love to listen to them while I’m driving. In recent years, I’ve made several road trips on my own, and a good book will keep me awake and alert much better than music will. Occasionally, I think about putting on an audiobook while I’m cleaning house, but I haven’t actually tried it yet. Usually when I’m home and cleaning, I’m thinking about whatever book I’m currently working on, and often great ideas come to me while I’m folding laundry or loading the dishwasher, so I hesitate to interfere with that process…but one of these days I’ll try it, I’m sure.

What matters to me isn’t how I get the story, but that the story I get is compelling and well-written. What about you? Do you have a preferred delivery system for your books?

This is a bloghop, so make sure you check out the other authors participating. Their links are below.


Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

 Cover Photo by Aliis Sinisalu on Unsplash
6 thoughts on “Tell Me a Story. Any Story — #MFRWauthor

  1. Meka James says:

    My son is that way. He rather have the actual book than read on his now discarded Kindle. When we bought it for him we also bought him 2 books for it which to his day are still unread, 3+ years later. LOL But he’s also not much of a reader so there’s that.

  2. Linda McLaughlin says:

    It’s interesting how younger readers seem to prefer print. I think it’s partly because children’s books still primarily come in print so that’s what they are used to. I expect when they get a little older and the eyesight changes, they will come to appreciate the e-book reader.

  3. Ed Hoornaert says:

    I’m currently reading “Wired for Story” (in paperback, borrowed from the library) which uses the latest in brain research to explain how people respond to stories. The interest in and need for stories is built right into us.

  4. Helen Henderson says:

    I agree that it’s not necessarily the medium but the storyteller. Of course, my people were storytellers from way back. It was a good way to pass the time on dark winter nights.

Leave a Reply

