A Sight for Sore Eyes — #MFRWauthor

It’s Friday. and that means another installment of the MFRWauthor 52-week blog challenge. It’s week 27, which means we’ll be running downhill from this point on. This week’s prompt is The Most Beautiful Place I’ve Been. I suspect we’ll see a lot of variety in this week’s bloghop since beauty is such a subjective thing. Plus, there are so many truly beautiful places on earth, I’m not sure how to narrow it down.

Wyoming 01 dmsllI grew up in the West, and for many years I considered most of Wyoming to be horribly ugly, the Northwest corner which includes Yellowstone, Jackson and Grant Teton excluded. A few years ago, after moving to Florida. I went home for a visit and found myself getting almost teary-eyed over that dry Wyoming landscape that once ranked so low on my list. Even though it looked so good to me that day, and I’m old enough to appreciate its unique kind of beauty, I still can’t rank it high on my list of most beautiful places.

Uintas 01 smallI’ve been lucky enough to see quite a bit of our country, but not all. There are still places I want to visit within our borders, and plenty of places I want to visit outside the US. Every place I’ve been has its own kind of beauty, so picking one location and naming it the most beautiful is very hard for me. But if I must, I guess I’ll pick the Uinta Mountains in Utah.

The Uintas are “my” mountains. They’re the ones my heart calls home, the ones I still wake up longing to take a drive through on random mornings, even after living away for 8 years. i’m not a hiker or a mountain biker. I’m mostly a driver, but my mountain drives fill my heart with joy and peace, and I miss them.

Uintas 02 smallClear blue skies, majestic mountains and dense forests combine to make some of the most beautiful country anywhere. Sprinkle in a few mountain streams and lakes, and you have a combination that just can’t be beat. And when you toss in years of memories, camping trips with the family, picnics, nature hikes, fishing trips, etc., the value of the place climbs sky high. I can’t even begin to count how many campfires we sat around, how many fresh lake trout we ate for breakfasts or dinners, how many S’mores we made, and how much fun we had in the Uintas.

Uintas 03 smallAfter living away for so many years now, seeing these photos again has been a treat for homesick eyes. Being there in person would be a balm for my soul.

This is a bloghop, so be sure to check out the posts by the other participating authors. The links are below.


Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

9 thoughts on “A Sight for Sore Eyes — #MFRWauthor

  1. Cathy Brockman says:

    I have lived in Wyoming for a short time with my first husbands job. I thought it was quiet lovely. Your photos of the mountains in Utah are beautiful and make me want to go there.

  2. Meka James says:

    ‘Your’ mountains sound lovely. I’m not much of a driver, car rides, not my favorite, but you made it sound very relaxing. Hope you get to go home and visit them again soon.

  3. RobinMichaela says:

    It’s funny, my life is the reverse of yours. I grew up in Florida (hated it for it’s “sameness” wherever you went), so I moved to the West (Colorado). Then, I missed the beach, lol. Your Wyoming pics are beautiful. I hope you get to roam those woods again soon.

Leave a Reply

