Just Ask Me Why I Breathe — #MFRWauthor

Welcome to week 26 of the MFRWauthor 52-Week Blogging challenge. We’re halfway through the year already, can you believe it? Today’s prompt is Why I Write and I’m serious when I say you might as well just ask me why I breathe. The answers would be the same. But let me see if I can make this slightly more interesting than that.

Family Unsplash small

Not my actual family

Unfortunately, I have limited time to come up with a riveting blog post since I currently have a house full of family. My two granddaughters are here for a month, and at ages 10 and 8, they keep me busy all day long. On top of that, Younger Daughter, their mother, has flown in for a 10-day stay. It’s the first time she’s been home in 3 years, and I don’t want to miss a minute of her visit, so I;m up at the crack of dawn, hoping to write this post before they wake up and the fun begins.

If I told you  that I am, therefore I write, that wouldn’t be an exaggeration. I’d love to say that I love this job–and I do most of the time–but even when I don’t, there’s still nothing I can do about it. I was born a writer, and a writer I’ll probably be until the day I shrug off this mortal coil.

Writing NoI’m not going to lie. I’ve tried to quit writing a few times. Times when editors asked me to include or exclude things in books and I struggled to figure out how to make the story work with it or without it. Times when the industry got tough(er than usual), times when fear of the unknown or a bad review made me wonder if it was worth all the pain and effort.

I did writing joggingquit writing completely one day when my editor and senior editor from one publishing house placed a conference call to tell me they didn’t think I was funny and that I shouldn’t attempt to write humor anymore. Thankfully, my editor from the other publisher called the very next day to tell me she thought my latest book was delightful and to giggle over the parts she thought were funny.

Rocks Balance Small UnsplashDon’t get me wrong: writing is a great profession. I really wouldn’t want to do anything else. But it can be tough. I’m not the kind of writer who can escape my troubles by diving into the pages of a work-in-progress, although I wish I were. I have to find a way to balance what’s going on in my real world before any fictional world will cooperate with me.

I write because it’s who I am. I write because even when I’m not writing, I’m writing in my head. I write because when I look at the world around me, it seems off-kilter to me, and I need to wrap words around what the world looks like from my perspective–or at the very least, to figure out why it looks that way to me. I write because I need to know why people do the things they do.

Important as writing is to me, I don’t agree that the greatest agony is bearing an untold story inside of myself. Anyone who has ever lost a loved one or watched a child suffer knows there are greater agonies than not telling a story. But an untold story is like a persistent itch that irritates, annoys, and grows stronger the more I try to ignore it.

heaI write romance because I’m fascinated by what brings two people together against all odds. Because I love a happy ending. Because I want to believe that love is tougher than it looks. Because I want to believe that people can and will commit and stay committed, come what may. And because I want my daughters and their friends, and my granddaughters and their friends to know how I see love and what I believe it is, not rely on what Hollywood or the the rest of the world has to say about it.

Crime Scene TapeI write mystery because I love trying to hide all the clues in plain sight and waiting to find out of I actually stumped the reader. Because I am fascinated by people, by family dynamics, and by what drives someone to step over that ledge from reason and rashness. I need to understand what drives someone to the brink of madness, what might push someone to do something atrocious in the name of passion. I’m constantly trying to make sense of things that seem to make no sese at all.

So I’ve gone full-circle. The bottom line is, I write because I am.

This is a bloghop, so make sure you check out the other authors who are participating. You can find their links below:


Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

Save

10 thoughts on “Just Ask Me Why I Breathe — #MFRWauthor

  1. Meka James says:

    Enjoy the visit with your granddaughters and daughter. Time with family is important.

    You managed to squeak out a great post at the crack of dawn. I wouldn’t be able to function that early so kudos! LOL It’s great you found your calling in life. Not everyone is able to do that.

  2. Ed Hoornaert says:

    I liked how you touched on some of the rough aspects of the business side of writing. Things like marketing and editors sure can drain the fun out of what is otherwise a cool profession.

  3. alinakfield says:

    I would be devastated to have 2 editors call and tell me to stop writing what I’ve been writing. I’m so glad you hung in there and kept at it! Enjoy your girls!

Leave a Reply

