I’ll Have a Little of This and a Side of That — #MFRWauthor

Good Friday morning! It’s time for another installment of the Marketing For Romance Writers (MFRW) 52-Week Blog Challenge. This is week #24, and our prompt is; If I Could Eat One Last Meal…

I’ve been thinking about this one on and off all week, mostly because I don’t have just one favorite meal, so how do you choose when there are several things you’d like to eat if it was your last chance to taste something delicious?

Shrimp Unsplash SmallLet’s begin with the appetizer. I’m thinking maybe the Bang Bang Shrimp from Bonefish Grill. I’ve only had it once, but it was delicious. Or maybe I’d want the Chicken Lettuce Wrap from Shark Fin. Hmmm… If I were eating with my kids and/or grandkids, I’d have to add an order of calamari to keep them all happy.

Steak Unsplash xmzllFor the entree? I’m a red-meat kind of gal. I know that’s not probably not politically correct, but a life-long struggle with anemia makes me crave iron. I like a good slab of roast beef or prime rib, but probably my favorite is a rib-eye steak cooked just right–medium rare is my choice, unlike my dad, who insisted on ordering well-done or, as he called it, “cooked,” which proved to be a source of endless frustration and irritation to servers all over the world.

But is that what I’d want to eat for my final meal? Or would I want a big bowl of my Spaghetti Unsplash smallmother’s homemade spaghetti? There’s nothing secret about her recipe. I think she got it out of a Betty Crocker cookbook years and years ago, but it’s hands down the best spaghetti I’ve ever eaten in my life. I’ve given up ordering spaghetti at restaurants because even the “best” can’t compete with what my mom makes–except those years when she decided to make the meatballs using ground turkey instead of ground beef. I’ve forgiven her, of course. She was only trying to keep us all healthy. But…yuk! People always tell me you can tell the difference between ground beef and ground turkey. They are so, so, so wrong.

Or would I want to order a big steaming bowl of Thai Green Curry from the Vietnamese/Japanese/Chinese/Thai restaurant down the road? I’ve had Indian curry and Curry Powder Unsplash smalllike it a lot, but until recently I’d never tried Thai Green Curry. My son-in-law once told me there was no comparison between the two. Thai green is his favorite, but I honestly thought he was being a bit elitist. He’s the most down-to-earth guy on the planet most of the time, but that didn’t stop me from thinking his nose was a bit up in the air over the whole curry thing–until my daughter (the one who is not his wife) ordered Thai Green Curry at dinner one night and let me taste it. Can I just say OMG!?! I don’t know Maybe I’d need to eat that one more time before I’m through.

I mentioned this blog prompt to Younger Daughter, who reminded me of my favorite dishes from La Cai Noodle House in Salt Lake City, so now I need to add Vietnamese egg rolls, BΓΊn with pork and Vermicelli noodles, the house stir-fried beef and Walnut Shrimp to my list. Or what about my favorite special order from Lorena’s: Cheese Enchiladas on flour tortillas? I can’t let my one last meal pass without including those items. I’d need some guacamole and chips from Cactus Flower, unless I could talk my cousin, Angie, into making her guacamole, but I’d need a three-day critique session with my long-time critique group to go with that. I’d need an order of salsa from La Fuente in Kirksville, Mo, strangely enough, some of the best salsa I’ve ever eaten, and I’ve eaten a lot of salsa in a lot of different places. Even in Texas, I never found a salsa I liked so well.

And could I really eat one final meal that didn’t include a serving of my mom’s potato salad? Not just any potato salad. It has to be my mom’s. I’m not a fan of potato salad in general, although I will eat it if it’s offered, but I don’t like it well enough to include it in my last meal unless it’s my mom’s It’s the only potato salad I actually crave. A spoonful of that on the side would be Blackberry Ice Creamideal.

For dessert, there’s only one real option: ice cream. As far as I’m concerned, it’s nectar of the Gods. The Balm of Gilead The cure for whatever ails you. I was raised by a dad who loved ice cream in all its varieties, and he taught me well. I’m supposed to avoid sugar and carbs these days, so I don’t get to eat ice cream often. Thank goodness for the “no sugar added” varieties that allow me to have it occasionally. But if we’re talking one last meal, it must include ice cream. Don’t even think of asking me to narrow the choice down to one flavor!

What it all boils down to is this: If ever I have to choose a last meal, I’m going to need at least a week’s notice so I can get all the elements of my “last meal” in before the deadline!

This is a bloghop, so make sure you check out the others who have posted today! Links are below.


Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

10 thoughts on “I’ll Have a Little of This and a Side of That — #MFRWauthor

  1. Linda McLaughlin says:

    Wow, you’ll have them running all over town to put that last meal together. My mom made the best potato salad, too, and I think it was an old Betty Crocker recipe. And you’re right, there is a big taste difference between ground turkey and ground beef. I happen to like turkey burgers, but I’d never say they taste like beef.

  2. Helen Henderson says:

    Mom’s cooking seems to be a recurring theme. Ground turkey might be healthier but it don’t taste the same as ground beef. And doesn’t cook the same either. Save up gas money for running around town to gather all the dishes. Nice meal.

  3. Meka James says:

    LOL wow, yeah your last meal is gonna be a big one. I relate to a few of your topics but I really laughed at your dad and how he orders his steak. That’s me! Yes I like my meat cooked as well. The Hubs was hanging his head in shame at our dinner. For him and our server I ordered it medium but butterflied (something she told us about) so that it still got cooked a little more in the middle. Win/Win. πŸ™‚

    On the turkey, yep, I’m guilty of that, but luckily my kids are okay with the change. πŸ™‚

  4. Mary J. McCoy-Dressel says:

    My mom made the best spaghetti sauce too. I can’t duplicate it. I like the idea of running around to different restaurants to get what you want. If it’s the end, let’s extend it for as long as we can and go out happy.

Leave a Reply

