5 Things You Might Not Know About June

I’m sure you’ve all noticed that we’re nearing the middle of the month of June. Well, if you’re a writer on a very tight deadline you might not have noticed, but probably everyone else has. Because I’m gearing up for a month-long visit from my grandkids (yay!) and I’m suffering from short-timer’s disease (a month’s vacation! Yay!) I decided to do a little research on the glorious month of June to see if I could find out something that surprised me. I did! So here you go: five things you might not have known about the month of June until right now:

June Calendar Clipart smallNumber 1: In any year, no other month starts on the same day of the week as June. Really? Are you serious? This I have to verify, for sure. According to this online calendar,  here’s how 2017 will play out:

  • Sunday:  January, October
  • Monday: May
  • Tuesday:August
  • Wednesday: February, March, November
  • Thursday:  June
  • Friday:  September, December
  • Saturday: April, July

Great. How about 2018? Next year, June will be the only month to begin on Friday. Interesting. I picked a few more years at random, and sure enough, June stands alone every year I looked at. I’ll file that away for future use. I’m pretty sure I’ll need to know that someday.

Spider Cartoon free smallNumber 2: On June 7, 1946, the song, “Eensie Weensie Spider” by Yola De Meglio was copyright registered. I did not know this. In fact, it never occurred to be before just now that someone conceived of and wrote that song in the first place. I’m not sure where I thought it came from. I guess I thought it just appeared one day, like magic. Sorry, Yola. No doubt, you are owed millions of dollars in royalties.

Raggedy AnnNumber 3:  On June 28, 1917 the Raggedy Ann doll was invented. Some of you may not think this is a big deal, but to me, it was. I loved my Raggedy Ann doll when I was a kid. I liked my Raggedy Andy doll, but I loved Raggedy Ann. To this day, I have Raggedy Ann and Raggedy Andy dolls. Mine currently reside in my office. As a child, I was fascinated by the books about Raggedy Ann and Andy, and I was absolutely convinced that my dolls came to life when I wasn’t around–a belief helped along by my older sister, who on occasion would sneak away from the dinner table, under the pretense of having to use the bathroom, then nipped into the bedroom we shared to change the position of  few toys. Raggedy Ann will be 100 years old this year. I think that’s amazing.

Number 4: June marks the start of Atlantic Hurricane Season. Okay, I did know this one…now. It was not on my radar screen a few years ago, though. Ten I lived in the Western US, where hurricanes were just a thing we heard about occasionally. We were, of course, aghast at the devastationevacuationRouteSign we saw on TV, but that only caused us to scratch our heads and wonder about the people who chose to live in places here hurricanes were an issue. Since moving to Florida, I have learned the answer to that great question: Speaking only for myself, I moved here to be near family who were stationed here by the Air Force. They left. I’m still here. Yeah, we get the occasional threat of a tropical storm, but in 8-plus ears, the storms have either petered out to nothing before they reach us, or they’ve changed directions and gone somewhere else. I’m sure our luck will change at some point, but I better understand why people choose to live here, despite the threat.

Candy Unsplash smallNumber 5: June is National Candy Month. It’s also National Dairy Month. And don’t forget that it’s National Iced Tea Month. Frankly, I think every month is National Iced Tea Month here in the South, but what do I know? If those three aren’t enough for you, June also marks the following:

African-American Music Appreciation Month
Aquarium Month

Fight the Filthy Fly Month
LGBTQIA Pride Month
National Accordion Awareness Month
National Adopt a Cat Month
National Fresh Fruit and Vegetables Month
National Camping Month
National Country Cooking Month
National Great Outdoors Month
National Papaya Month
National Soul Food Month
Rose Month
Turkey Lovers Month

I may have heard that June is National Dairy Month and Pride Month, but most of the others have fallen sadly short of my radar screen. I know now, though. There’s no excuse for letting National Papaya Month pass without observing it.

And there you have them: five things I didn’t previously know about the month of June–things you may not have known, either.

Leave a Reply

