Oh The Places I’ll Go — #MFRWauthor

It’s week 17 of the MFRWauthor Bloghop challenge, and this week’s prompt is  Top 5 places I’d like to visit. This one should be fun. I suspect the problem won’t be trying to come up with 5 places, but in trying to narrow my extensive list down to only 5 places.

Globe smallThere are places I’ve never been that I’d love to visit for the first time, and favorite places I’d like to visit again. For this post, I think I’ll concentrate on the first group–places I’ve never been, but would like to go.

Years ago when Younger Daughter was a senior in high school, she had an assignment to create a life list, commonly known now as a “bucket list.” I was so impressed by her list, I decided to create one of my own. It included several places I wanted to travel. I don’t look at it often, but whenever I do I’m surprised to find that I can check off several things from the list. I try to add one new item for every item I check off so I always have 100 things on my list. I don’t always succeed, however. Right now, I’m missing 11 items, so I need to do some thinking.

To Do List SmallBut I digress…

For this blog post, I’m going to look at that list and pick a few from it  So here they are, in no particular order:

France: I’d love to see Paris, but I’d also love to visit the South of France. I want to visit the Louvre and see the Palace at Versailles where my distant (very distant) ancestors lived. (There’s a reason I wrote the France smallbeginnings of so many historical romances set in France. There’s also a reason I never finished writing any of them, but that’s a story for another topic.) I’d love to sample French wines and stay in Marseilles, and maybe even get a glimpse of the French Riviera. There are no doubt at least 5 places in France alone I’d like to go, but that’s why I’m lumping them all together in one.

Italy smallItaly: I’d like to visit Naples and and the Lake District (and maybe pop in on the Clooneys. I’m sure they’d love to see me.) I want to visit the Amalfi Coast and Milan and see Pompeii. I want to see Venice and spend time in Tuscany and see the Vatican and see the Colosseum and the Sistine Chapel and Saint Peter’s Basilica.

The UK: When I was a teenager, my mother and I used to dream about traveling to the UK together to visit places where our family came from. Unlike my French family, those from Great Britain and Ireland aren’t quite so far removed. One great-grandfather was born in Southhampton, Hampshire. His mother was born in Deanshanger, Passenham, England smallNorthamptonshire. A great-great grandfather from another line was born in Wardington, Oxfordshire. and one of my 8X great-grandfathers on my dad’s side of the family was born in County Tyrone, Ulster in Ireland. Although my mother is in her 90s now and unable to travel, it was always her fondest dream to see where her ancestors came from. I’d still love to fulfill that dream for her, maybe taking my daughters and granddaughters along.

HHawaii smallawaii:  I’ve been to most of the 50 States in the US, but there are still a handful of states I’ve never visited. Hawaii is one of them. I’d like to visit Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, of course, and spend some time at the Polynesian Cultural Center. I’d like to stop by the USS Arizona Memorial at Pearl Harbor and check out the North Shore of Oahu. I’d like to see the Na Pali Coast Wilderness State Park. I’d love to go whale watching and learn to hula, and, of course, enjoy a luau.

Jerusalem smallThe Holy Land:  So much history is represented there, I’d love to see it someday. I’d love to stand at the foot of Mount Sinai and atop the Mount of Beatitudes. I’d love to stand near Golgotha Hill and walk through the Garden of Gethsemane. I want to see the Dome of the Rock, and the Wailing Wall. I want to visit the Church of the Nativity and the Garden Tomb and the Mount of Olives. I want to walk the shores of the Dead Sea and and the Sea of Galilee. I want to visit the Church of St. John the Baptist, and probably 1 hundred other things I don’t know about yet.

So there’s my list. This is a bloghop, so check the links below and visit some of the other bloggers who are posting about the same thing today. It should be a lot of fun.


Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

8 thoughts on “Oh The Places I’ll Go — #MFRWauthor

  1. Meka James says:

    Wonderful list. My daughter did study abroad the summer of her freshman year of college and went to Italy. She got to see some of those places.Sadly she didn’t get to see much of Pompeii as a lot of it was closed off. Some parts were being restored. I had no idea that sort of thing was done, but it is. She did visit the Sistine Chapel.

  2. Linda McLaughlin says:

    It was hard to keep the list to just five, wasn’t it? Hawaii is gorgeous and relaxing.

    It’s cool that you have known family connections to France and the UK. My roots are in Germany and the UK, but I can’t seem to get across the pond on most of my lines. Only my maternal grandma’s line from Northern Ireland.

  3. RobinMichaela says:

    I LOVED Pompeii! It was so cool to walk through that ancient city (Rome was like that, too). I could easily imagine people bustling all around me. I hope you get to visit all the places on your list!

Leave a Reply

