13 Things that Begin With “V”

Oh, this one’s not going to be easy. I can feel that already. But I’m determined to make it to the end of the alphabet, although I’m seriously considering combining X, Y and Z because they’re X, Y and Z. I mean, really!

So here goes. Let’s see if I can come up with 13 things that begin with V that had some kind of place in my world.

  1. Vocabulary: I’ve been told that I have a good one, but probably most often by people who don’t. I don’t consider myself a vocabulary wiz, by any means, but I can hold my own in most conversations, and that’s what matters, right?  Most of my vocabulary I’ve gained by reading a lot over the years.

c1127-dirty2bdan2527s2bband2. Voice: At one time in my life I had a pretty good singing voice. I spent 9 years or so singing in a cover band, mostly doing backup vocals, but occasionally taking the lead on a few songs. Then I developed…

3. Vocal cord polyps: Which kind of put an end to my singing career. Ironically, I sang in bars for 9 years and never hurt my voice. Sang in church once, and my voice was gone. I was on complete voice rest for a while, which was a pain, and then had a very husky speaking voice for several years after that. The huskiness has since gone away and I can sing again, but I don’t perform very often anymore.

Travel small4. Vacations: I love them. I mean, really, who doesn’t? But I think I may have been born to vacation. I think I should be paid to vacation, but as yet, nobody has offered. I have to admit I haven’t pursued the notion, either. While I don’t mind flying, I love other modes of transportation, too, and my favorite form of vacation is a good road trip. I like being able to stop when and where I want to, for as long as I want to.

Gene E5. Veterans: My dad (pictured) was a Word War II vet, and so were several of my uncles. One uncle was a Viet Nam war vet, and so was my ex, pictured above in the band snapshot. My son-in=law is a veteran of the war on terror, having served several deployments overseas. Veterans are kind of a big deal in my family. I’m proud of every one of them I’ve mentioned, and of the cousins and various others I haven’t.

6. Vases: After my ex-husband passed away (not the ex pictured above), my daughter inherited a couple of family heirloom vases, which she and I both love. She almost lost them once to a ex of her own, but we managed to negotiate a trade, which we executed on Mother’s Day one year and were able to save them. I’d pull them out of their safe spots and take pictures, but I hurt my ankle the other day and am a bit leery of climbing about on ladders at the moment.

american-flag-with-blue-sky-871279193300Gst27. Voting: I know I’m giving away my age here, but I turned 18 the year 18-year-olds were allowed to vote for the very first time in our country’s history. I took my responsibility very seriously, and was dismayed to realize that most of our local politicians didn’t think we silly high school kids could understand the issues. I still remember how insulted I felt by their patronizing attitudes. I think that may have killed my political ambitions.

8. Veins: Mine are notoriously difficult to find whenever I have to have bloodwork done. I don’t think I’ve ever in my life had someone hit a vein successfully on the first, or even the fifth try. Usually, the nurse/technician ends up calling in backup, and usually they finally give up trying to hit a vein in my arm and go through my hand. It’s a whole thing.

Fresh Seafood Pub Dom small9. Variety. I must have it. I need it in what I read, what I watch on TV, what I listen to when it comes to music, and what I write. If you want to see me to a little nuts, tell me I have to write the same kind of book twice in a row, or eat the same thing for lunch every day for several weeks. Even one week is sometimes too much.

Viva Las Vegas10. Viva Las Vegas: Older Daughter has been an Elvis Presley fan her entire life. She was 3 when he died, and she wept when she heard about his death. Wept. She has passed her appreciation on to the Princess and the Pixie (my granddaughters, her nieces) and there’s nothing those two girls enjoy much more than singing along to an Elvis song or watching an old Elvis movie on TV. When they were little, they became particularly fond of Viva Las Vegas, and would race around the house singing, “Viva las pixus!” which, of course, is the only way I would even dream of singing it now.

11. Voodoo: Okay, it’s not a thing in my everyday life, but I did have to research it quite extensively while working on the Piece of Cake Mystery series which was set in New Orleans, and I have to admit, the research was fascinating.

12. Vanity: When I was a girl, my favorite thing in my bedroom was my vanity. It came from my parents’ old bedroom suite, and I loved that thing. My parents got rid of it when they moved from Colorado back to Utah, which broke my heart, so one year for Mother’s Day, Older Daughter and Younger Daughter surprised me with a vanity they made for me. It is my favorite thing in my bedroom.

Victor Victoria13. Victor Victoria: It’s one of my favorite movies. Starring James Garner (on whom I had a bit of a crush since early Maverick daysand Julie Andrews, who is…well, Julie Andrews, and Robert Preston, who is marvelous in this. it’s the story of a woman, pretending to be a man, pretending to be a woman. Hi-jinks ensue. I don’t watch it often, but it’s always good for a laugh when I do.

Actually, that list wasn’t nearly as difficult as I thought it would be.

Leave a Reply

