Shhh…Don’t Tell a Soul – #MFRWauthor

It’s week 10 of the MFRWauthor blog challenge and this week’s prompt is Seven Guilty Pleasures.

Egads! I’m supposed to reveal my guilty pleasures for everyone to judge? I guess that’s the whole point, right? So okay, here they are:

Marriage Boot CampNumber 1: Marriage Boot Camp: Reality Stars. Do not ask me why I watch this show when I can. There’s no real rhyme or reason to it. With one exception, I don’t watch the reality TV shows these people come from, so most of them are completely unfamiliar to me, but there’s something fascinating about the sense of entitlement that seems to accompany them wherever they go, and how that tends to make train wrecks of their lives. It’s research. Yeah. That’s right! Research into the minds of other human beings who are so unlikable, I would never create a hero or heroine like them. A lesson in what not to do.

Big BrotherNumber 2: The exception to the above rule, Big Brother. I’ve watched this one since maybe the second season. It’s fascinating to me. You take a group of young, entitled, thoroughly unlikable people and throw them into a house together, essentially cut off from the rest of the world and watch the disaster unfold. It’s amazing to me how quickly they start labeling the others as “evil.” Seriously? Evil? Have you ever actually encountered evil? Again, research. The human dynamic is endlessly fascinating to me.

Number 3: Chips and queso or chips and guacamole. Is it healthy? Good for me in any way? No! But it’s delicious.

Number 4: “Special drinks” from Sonic. When my grandkids were very little, their parents began calling anything that wasn’t water or milk or juice a “special drink.” Special drinks were…well…special. Allowed on special occasions. I have since realized that “Special drinks” from Sonic may qualify as my own personal love language. Current favorites include Diet Dr. Pepper with peach flavoring added, Diet Limeade with blackberry added, and the ever-popular Diet Cherry Limeade.

Blackberry Ice CreamNumber 5: Ice cream. It is truly the nectar of the gods. Favorite flavors? Almost anything. No, that’s not true. I don’t like flavors that are intensely chocolate. I love plain chocolate ice cream, but not chocolate ice cream containing other chocolaty bits. If I’m going to have chocolaty bits, I prefer them in a good vanilla ice cream. Other than that, however, I’m pretty open. These days, I confine myself to no-sugar added varieties when I indulge at all, which is much less frequently than it used to be. Cutting out added sugar seriously curtails the available options.

watch.jpgNumber 6: Watches. There’s nothing wrong with owning a watch, but one is never enough for me. I need a watch for every mood. Okay, need is probably the wrong word to use there, but I like to have a watch for every mood. Serious, elegant watches, chunky casual watches, gold watches, silver watches, watches with white bands, watches with jeweled bands. I don’t indulge my every whim, but if I had millions, I certainly would. I like to think I’d contain my enthusiasm to fairly inexpensive watches, even if I had millions. No sense being ridiculous about it.

Number 7: Having my nails done. I don’t have them now, but I love having acrylic nails painted with OPI Red. It’s my signature color. Unfortunately, they get in the way of typing, especially on a laptop. I could work around them when I had a desktop and regular keyboard, but the angle of the laptop keyboard doesn’t work as well. Still…

What are some of your guilty pleasures? I promise I won’t judge!


Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

5 thoughts on “Shhh…Don’t Tell a Soul – #MFRWauthor

  1. Ellie Mack says:

    Ice cream *drools*. I love having my nails done, but seldom take the time to actually go to a salon to have them done. My nails aren’t long by any means but a “sporty” length. I totally get that they get in the way of typing on a laptop. Just last week I trimmed my nails back because of this very reason. My usual manicure consists of whatever bargain color that happens to pique my interest at the moment. Yesterday, it was mango sunrise! After I tackle the pots and pans tonight, it will need to be refreshed.
    LOve your list, thanks for sharing!

    • Sherry Lewis says:

      Ooh! Mango Sunrise sounds lovely! I always kept my nails at a sporty length, too. Even then, sometimes it’s too much, but that doesn’t stop me from wanting them again.

  2. Kenzie Michaels says:

    I absolutely LOVE Big Brother, and was upset when the last season debuted on All Access. Since I don’t want to subscribe, I had a friend who does tell me what happened after every episode. REALLY hope they put it on Netflix!

Leave a Reply

