I’m Over These Things #MFRWauthor

badge-blog-challenge-updated

It’s week 9 of the MFRWauthor bloghop, and our prompt this week is: Words That Make Me Go “Ick!” This may take some thought because off the top of my head, there aren’t any words by themselves that make me shudder. Phrases, yes, but words alone? Not so much.

Oh, I guess there are words I hear that I’m not fond of, but it’s not the words themselves, it’s the hateful way they’re used. The word itself isn’t bad, but the intent behind it is. Can’t blame the poor word for how some people choose to us it. So I’ll share a few phrases that, for me, are cringe-worthy.

im-over-itI’m over saying, “I’m over it,” for example, because whenever someone says, “I’m over it,” they’re clearly not over it at all. They’re very much invested in it and apparently upset enough to make a public declaration about it. If I’m really over something, it becomes a non-factor. I don’t walk around telling everyone how over it I am. I don’t have enough emotional energy to spend talking about things I’m actually over..

I got over “Let’s do this!” a long time ago. You don’t hear it as much now as you used to, but for a while, everybody was saying it about everything, and the more I heard it, the less I liked it.

you-do-the-math“You do the math,” is another phrase I can do without. It was clever for about two minutes, then it became annoying. Then it became really annoying.

This one might make me wildly unpopular with my romance writing friends, but I don’t like the recent “book boyfriend” trend. That one actually does make me shudder when I see it. If you want me not to click on your link, try to entice me by referencing my next book boyfriend. II’ll pass right by without blinking. I’m really not sure why I dislike it so much, but I do.

youre-doing-it-wrongOh! Wait! There is a word that makes me go “ick!” and that’s “Wrong.” It seems that the world is full of people who have decided their way is the only way, and everyone else is wrong. It’s bad enough when it’s applied to religion or politics, but now it’s moving into every other aspect of life, as well.  Spend a few hours online, and you’ll discover that you’re peeling vegetables wrong, eating Oreos wrong, making your bed wrong, washing your hands and brushing your teeth wrong., reading wrong…  There are a few things in this world, I suppose, with an absolute right and wrong, but most things are a matter of personal preference, and telling me I’m doing something that doesn’t actually matter wrong is the fastest way I know of to get me to cross a site off my list of places to visit while I’m online. Why you care so much about how I peel a banana is…well, frankly, it’s a little creepy.

I’m sure there are other phrases that make me cringe as much as these do, but it might be wise for me to stop thinking about them.


Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

6 thoughts on “I’m Over These Things #MFRWauthor

  1. storimom2 says:

    The phrase I can’t stand is ‘My bad’. For whatever reason, this is nails on the chalkboard to me. Can’t they say, “Oops’ or ‘I forgot’? What’s wrong with ‘My mistake’? Grrrrrrr……

    • Sherry Lewis says:

      That’s a really common one around here, too. Or maybe it was where I used to live. LOL. Now I can’t remember if I hear it here. I only know I’ve heard it a lot. It works for me if someone says, “Thanks so much. I hate to be a burden,” or something similar. Then, “No problem,” is okay. But as a reply to a simple “Thanks,” not so much.

  2. Ed Hoornaert says:

    LOL. A few decades ago I moved from British Columbia to the States, and I almost felt I had to learn a new language because of all the trendy phrases like these. I’m wary of them in my writing; they go out of style and make the text dated. I don’t mind “No problem” though. To me it’s just a translation of the French “Pas de probleme.”

  3. Heather Boyd says:

    The internet is really good at telling people they could be thinner, healthier, fitter, cooler. Im of the opinion I should believe less than a quarter of what I read online. 🙂

Leave a Reply

