Introducing My BFF(s) #MFRWauthor

It’s week 5 in the MFRWauthor blogging challenge and this week’s prompt is to talk about my best friend. This is a hard one for me because I don’t think I actually have a “best” friend. I do, however, have several really wonderful close friends who rank up there so close together, it’s impossible to pick one as the “best.” Here they are in alphabetical order (somewhat):

guacamole

Not Angie’s guacamole

Angie is a longtime critique partner who is also my cousin. She’s a talented author and I love reading what she writes, but she’s become much more than that. She’s one of a trusted foursome that has been my longtime critique group. We get together whenever we can, usually using writing as an excuse to just spend time together, catch up on each others’ lives, vent and process and laugh a lot. Angie a warm, wonderful woman with a huge heart. Plus, she makes the best guacamole (among many other things) I have ever tasted in my life!

Daughter #1 came into my life when I was barely 20. Her dad and I divorced when she was just 5, and for many years it was the two of us against the world–at least, that’s how it felt. The two of us can talk about anything and everything for hours–and then discuss it all again.

Daughter #2 came into my life 12 years after her sister, and like her sister, she has become one of my closest friends. Just like her sister, we can talk about anything under the sun, and every thought that passes through our heads. I never grow tired of her company, or of her sister’s. My daughters know more about me than any other human being on the planet.

My daughters are similar in many ways, and very different in others. I love their sameness and I love their differences. Daughter #1 is an introvert, and so am I. We enjoy doing quiet things together. daughter #2 is an extrovert, which makes her a lot of fun to have with me when I have to leave the house and interact with people.

Debbie is a relatively new friend. I met her just a year or so ago at a church meeting. We quickly recognized the other as a kindred spirit. We joined the same book club, where our friendship has blossomed rapidly. She’s no-nonsense person who cuts right to the chase , and who never fails to make me laugh.

I met Jo Ann almost 25 years ago at a conference for the Utah chapter of Romance Writers of America. I was just starting on my journey as a writer. I’d finished a mystery novel and submitted it to an agent for consideration and was closing in on the end of my first romance. Jo Ann and I were introduced by a mutual friend. We sat next to each other during a workshop, and by the end of that hour, I knew I’d just met someone special. She’s also a member of the trusted foursome I mentioned above.

firewalkers-2015

Pictured l-r: Angie, me, Jo Ann, Teresa

Teresa is the final member (me being the fourth) of the trusted foursome that is my longtime critique group. I met Teresa when she joined URWA and immediately volunteered to serve on the board with me. I was president of the chapter that year, and Teresa stepped in as Vice President. She was so supportive and so helpful, I was blown away.

The four of us have been through the wringer together over the years, and whenever I read one of those books about lifelong friends, these are the women I think of.

There are several other people I could add to this list, but I don’t want the post to be too long, and I don’t want to inadvertently leave someone off the list who rightfully belongs there. There are times, when I hear someone talking about their best friend, that I feel a twinge of envy–but that only lasts for a moment. I consider myself a lucky, lucky woman to have so many people who qualify for the role.


Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

2 thoughts on “Introducing My BFF(s) #MFRWauthor

  1. Meka James says:

    You have an amazing group around you. I can see why you can’t put one above the others. My daughter and I have a similar relationship. She calls to talk to me often and no topic is off limits. That’s something her friends are truly amazed at. It’s a good thing, I know she feels like she can come to me no matter what as it should be.

Leave a Reply

