Nothing Wrong With a Good Binge! #MFRWauthor

I’m not one of those people who turns my nose up at TV. I freely confess that I love a good story, no matter how it’s delivered. I happen to enjoy TV. A lot.

Go ahead. Judge me. I’ll wait.

This week’s blog prompt is to write about those shows we love to binge-watch. This is difficult for me because I could binge-watch most of my favorite shows. I can’t possibly list them all, so I’ll just have to discuss those I’ve actually binge-watched lately.

Here they are, in no particular order:

longmire-3x10-04Longmire. This series is based on Craig Johnson‘s wonderful series of mystery novels featuring Wyoming sheriff Walt Longmire (played by Robert Taylor.) I’ve binged on this show more than once, and am positive I’ll do it again. The characters are interesting and complex, their relationships are layered and fascinating, and the scenery makes me long for home. There are many performances to recommend it from Taylor, Lou Diamond Phillips, Katee Sackhoff, Bailey Chase, Gerald McRaney (whom I have not yet forgiven), Adam Bartley, A Martinez, Graham Greene … the list goes on and on. It’s a favorite, both on the screen and in print.

ros-myers-spooks-mi5MI-5: Known in the UK as Spooks. We originally started watching this show because my daughter was on a Richard Armitage kick. Within just a few minutes, we were hooked and we binged the entire 10-season series, coming up for air only long enough to work. This show features another amazing cast: Peter Firth, Nicola Walker, Rupert Penry-Jones,  Hermione Norris (pictured) , David Oyelowo, and many others. (I’m sorry, I just can’t list you all.) 

doctors-9-10-11-12Doctor Who: I resisted for many years, but once my grandkids started quoting lines from the show, I caved in and started watching. They had certain episodes they wanted to show me, and having just watched David Tennant in Gracepoint (the US version of Broadchurch) I thought Tennant was pretty dishy, so I didn’t fighr very hard. There’s no sense being stubborn just to prove a point. I can’t even remember how what point I might have wanted to make. Again, I was hooked pretty quickly, and we binged from the beginning of the 2005 season until we couldn’t binge anymore. We’re now waiting (somewhat impatiently) for the new episodes to show up here in the US. My family is split on the issues of favorite doctor and favorite companion, but we still manage to get along The West Wing

The West Wing: I didn’t watch this show when it was actually on the air, so when I decided to check it out years later, there was nothing to do about it but binge. Any other choice would have been unacceptable. The cast and writers of this show knocked it out of the park. It would be wonderful to think that people in government were that dedicated to doing the job and leading the country. Sadly, I fear that’s pretty much just a fantasy.

last20tango20in20halifaxLast Tango in Halifax:  We’d been watching the amazing Derek Jacobi in Vicious with the wonderful Ian McKellen, and giggling our heads off, when someone brought this show to our attention. Yes, we watch a lot of British TV. If you’re not familiar with it, give it a try. It’s a great story about an older couple who were in love as teenagers and who meet again years later after one is divorced and the others spouse has died. It’s a good character study featuring characters who are endearing but flawed, and the blending of two very different families.

There are more, of course, but in the interest of making this a relatively quick read, I’ll just mention them briefly: I’m currently bunging on Murdoch Mysteries, and have recently binged my way through Hawaii Five-0 (the new version), Blue Bloods, Midsomer Murders, and Agatha Christie’s Poirot.

I’m sure there are many I’ve forgotten and there will be many more to come, but these are some of my recent favorites. If you have any suggestions for me, please comment and share!

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

3 thoughts on “Nothing Wrong With a Good Binge! #MFRWauthor

Leave a Reply

