News about my latest releases

Great news! Dead on Arrival, the first book in a brand-new mystery series, is now available for pre=order on amazon.com.  The book is scheduled for release on February 15, 2017, and I’m very excited about it. This book has been in the works for a long, long time — at least 15 years.

dead-on-arrivalI wasn’t writing actively that whole time, but when I wasn’t actually working on it, I was thinking about it. The book has taken several different incarnations over the years. It wasn’t until 2009 that I met Kat Mulvaney and realized where the story needed to go.

Katie Scarlett O’Malley (don’t call me Katie) was raised by her father after her mother walked out when Scarlett was just three. Now thirty years later, Scarlett learns that her mother was killed when she lost control of her car less than 50 miles from Scarlett’s home town. The news is unnerving, especially since Scarlett had no idea her mother was anywhere around.

Frankly, Scarlett doesn’t give a damn. She’d be happy to ignore her mother’s accident completely, but that proves to be impossible once her egg donor’s ghost shows up in Scarlett’s bedroom. Not only has Kat failed to go toward the light, she’s become attached to Scarlett for some reason neither of them can understand. When Scarlett’s aunt asks her to prove that Kat’s death was no accident, Scarlett agrees, but only so she can send her ghostly visitor on to her great reward.

Together, Scarlett and her amnesiac ghost of a mother look into the accident that claimed Kat’s life. It doesn’t take long for things to get worse and soon they’re caught up in a web of secrets and lies that turn Scarlett’s whole world upside-down.

I do hope you’ll order a coy of the book and that you have as much fun with Scarlett and Kat as I did writing their story.  Dead on Arrival  will be available on Kindle and in paperback in February.

Pre-order your copy with one easy click! amazon-sq

In other book news, many of you know that I’ve been busy making soe of my older books available for purchase again. The most recent updated and re-released book is Keeping Her Safe, a contemporary romance novel.

Many readers have asked me over the years if my books are based on my own life. In some ways, all my books are based on my life. It’s hard for me to write about something that’s completely outside my experience. The characters really only come to life for me when I find that place where the two of us connect.

Keeping keeping-her-safe-smallHer Safe is the book from my shelf that’s closest to my own life of them all. Many years ago, I was involved in a relationship with a man who was extremely volatile and dangerous. I didn’t realize until it was too late (at least I thought it was) just how dangerous he was. I spent 0 years in an abusive relationship with him, and my youngest daughter came into my life as a result.

Years later, when she was just a little over 2, I decided to end the relationship. What happened next is fodder for another book or ten and don’t factor into this book at all. In the very early days out of the relationship, I thought I would protect my daughter by telling her that her father was dead or that he had moved and I didn’t know where to find him. His parental rights had been terminated by the court, and he had been ordered to have nothing to do with her, even if he saw her walking down the street, so “protecting” her seemed like a good idea.

The first time I tried, (she was just 3) she took my face in her hands and said, “You’re lying, Mommy.” Well, yes. Yes, I was. But it was clear to me that I wasn’t going to get away with it, so I told her the truth from that point on. I told her as much of the truth as I thought she could handle, increasing the details as she grew older, until she knew the whole story about my relationship with her biological father.

Then one day, when she was a teenager, it occurred to me that telling her the truth was actually the best way to protect her. I wondered what might have happened if I’d lied to her as a child, and then her biological father showed up when she was an adult. Not knowing the truth would have exposed her to possible danger, and I was pretty sure it would have destroyed my relationship with her.

And with that one question, Keeping Her Safe was born. It’s been updated from the original version, and a bit of language added to make Larry Galloway feel more realistic than he did in the original version, but otherwise the story is the same.

It’s available in both Kindle and paperback versions.

Order your copy here:  amazon-sq or click here to read an excerpt:

I hope you enjoy the story!

Leave a Reply

