I Simply Remember …#MFRWauthor

This morning, while my daughter was getting ready for work this morning, I heard the sounds of Julie Andrews singing about her favorite things streaming from my daughter’s bedroom. So when I got online this morning and discovered the blogging challenge on MFRW.org with last week’s prompt of Favorite Things, I decided it must be a sign.

That, of course, got me thinking about my favorite things, which is actually a more difficult topic than one might think.I don’t know if it’s adulthood in general or just womanhood with all the nurturing of others and giving up of self that seems to go with the territory that makes it hard to keep hold of your favorite things. If someone asks me what I like to do, I’m hard-pressed to come up with an answer. My days are generally taken up with what I have to do, not what I like to do, to the extent that I couldn’t tell you what I like to do at all.

Do men have that problem?

But even though listing a few of my favorite things is difficult, I’m up for the challenge. I’m going to try for at least five. If I can come up with more, I’ll count that as a bonus.

Girls 01The sound of my grandchildren’s voices. There is almost nothing in the world that gives me greater joy.

The sound of my daughters’ voices. My two daughters are my best friends. We can and do talk about anything and everything. If there’s anything that rivals the joy I feel when I hear my granddaughters talking, it’s the sound of my daufhters’ voices or even their ringtones.

wish-list-08Mountains. I was born in Utah and raised in Montana. Mountains are my thing. My happy place. Living on the Gulf Coast, I desperately miss the mountains of home. The beaches where I live are beautiful to be sure, but they’re not mountains.

Yellowstone National Park — probably my favorite place on earth.As a kid I lived in Billings, Montana but my entire extended family lived in Utah, so we drove “home” every year to visit family. We’d go through Yellowstone Unsplash smallWyoming one direction with a stop at Yellowstone, and through Idaho the other direction (which in my mind wasn’t nearly as fun.) I have fond memories of almost every inch of Yellowstone–at least the parts you can get to in a car. Hiking trails are not my thing.

roses-unaplashRoses — with or without raindrops. My parents always had a rose garden, and as an adult, I always had roses as well. It was just the thing to do in my head. I didn’t realize how much I liked roses until I suddenly lived in a place where roses apparently do not grow. Except for my two trips home to Utah, I haven’t seen a rose in more than 7 years.

Books. I can’t forget about books. Ever since I was a little girl, I’ve loved books. I’m always a bit stunned when I encounter someone who doesn’t love books. What??? How??? Why??? Who are you, anyway?

Hmmm… This is actually easier than I thought it would be. I could go on for a while: Pansies. Laughter. Mugs (I collect them). Pecan Sandies. Old fashioned candy stocks on vacation. Road trips.

If it’s been a while since you thought about your favorite things, try it. Especially if you’re feeling a bit down about the world in general. I guess the song is right. If I remember my favorite things, then I don’t feel so bad.


This blog hop is sponsored by MFRW.org and powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

Leave a Reply

