13 Things That Begin With “N”

thursday1307

13 things from my world that begin with “N: in no particular order

  1. Names: I’ve written under three of them: Sherry Lewis (which is the name my parents gave me when I was born), Sammi Carter (a name chosen to honor my maternal grandfather), and Jacklyn Brady (the last name chosen to honor my paternal grandmother.)

2. Now: I spent far too much of my life as a young adult and young mother worried about the future and running from the past. As a result, there are a lot of things about my kids’ early lives that I can’t remember–such as which childhood diseases they had. My records were lost in one of my many moves, so it’s really difficult for me to answer questions about whether or not one of my children had measles or chicken pox. As a single mom, I was always too worried about whether or not I could pay for the visit to the doctor’s office or whether insurance would cover it, or whether I’d lose my job for taking time off to stay with a sick child. This is something I regret deeply, so when the grandkids came along, I vowed to spent more time in the moment.

3. Nieces and Nephew: Technically, I know this is two words, but I’m lumping them all together here because I can’t separate them in my heart, so I won’t separate them here. By blood, I have two nieces and one nephew, all three of whom are so dear to my heart that if anything had happened to their parents when they were young, I would have taken them in without question and would have taken out anyone who got in my way. Now that they’re adults, married with kids of their own, my heart has grown three sizes, expanding to include their spouses and children in this group.

4. newspaper-pub-domNews: I have a love/hate relationship with the news. I hate how melodramatic and biased news reporters are these days, but I don’t feel right when I miss the news. I like knowing, for example, if there’s a bear or escaped convict wandering around my neighborhood, but I’d prefer to get just the facts and skip the opinions and commentary.

5. Naan: Okay, this one is a bit of a stretch It doesn’t have an everyday place in my life, but it does have a place. For many years, I avoided hummus and naan when someone would serve it. I don’t know what I expected it to be, but whatever I expected, it wasn’t pleasant. Then one day my daughter offered me some and, having just pointed out to my granddaughter that turning one’s nose at something without trying it is silly (it’s much more than that, but for the purposes of today’s post, we’ll just go with “silly”). As many people will agree, hummus is delicious and naan is completely nonthreatening, being nothing more than a really delicious flatbread native to India. If you can eat a tortilla, you can eat naan.It’s delicious warmed for a few seconds in the microwave before serving.
No6. No: I’m not sure where I picked up this belief, but like many women, for many years I thought that saying “No” made me not “Nice.” In some subconscious part of my brain, I thought I was obligated to say “Yes” to everything unless I had a really good reason for saying “No.” A reason nobody else could argue with. Anyone who has fought this battle knows that such an excuse does not exist. No matter what excuse you give someone else–up to and including major surgery and family deaths–will almost always be met with an argument. It took many years for me to learn that “No” means “No” and not just in a sexual context. It’s okay to say “No.” I don’t have to explain it. I don’t have to justify it.

7. Notebook: As those who follow my author page on Facebook know, a work-in-77progress doesn’t feel like a book to me until I’ve printed the whole thing and put it in my trusty three-ring binder. It’s old-fashioned, I know, but working on the computer from beginning to end just doesn’t work as well for me. I won’t go into more detail here, but if you’re interested, you can read the full post here.

83062-books-public-domain8. Novels: I guess I can’t really leave this one out. They’re how I make my living, but they’re also one of my favorite things in the entire world. I love long, luscious, rich, meaty novels about things. If it’s a romance, I need it to be about more than just physical attraction. If it’s a mystery, I need either to meet a varied cast of characters I can care about or learn something new while reading. I also read non-fiction from time to time, but novels are my first love.

9. Nylons: Thank goodness these are no longer part of my life, but for many years they were a daily thing. My job required me to wear dresses every day. It’s impossible to express how much I hate wearing dresses, and, by extension, nylons. :::shudder:::

Nap free smallNaps: Resisted them as a kid and couldn’t take them as a young adult unless I was really sick. Now, however, I find that I enjoy a nap now and then. And that’s all I’m going to say about that.

11. Needlework: I used to really enjoy doing needlework, especially counted cross-stitch and the occasional needlepoint piece. I don’t do it so much anymore, though. I’d share a picture of one of my masterpieces, but I gave them all away as gifts and don’t actually have any here.12.

12. Nose: When I was a kid, I hated my nose. It wasn’t cute. At. All. I dreamed of the day that I could grow up and get it fixed–and, of course, by “fixed” I mean changed into something cute. I grew up, but elective surgery was never on my radar screen. As an adult, I’ve made peace with it and, in fact rarely even think about it anymore. When I do think of it, I guess I’m glad I never had it done.It would have changed me, and I guess I’m okay with me now so I wouldn’t want it changed.

nutcracker13. Nutcrackers: I’m a fan of old-fashioned nutcrackers at Christmastime. I collect them (along with Santas) and love to display them every year. My collection of nutcrackers make me happy, as do my Santas. On a side note, I have a great-niece who has performed in the Nutcracker Ballet at Christmas every year for the past several years. I’m enormously proud of her and hope to get home to see her perform one of these years.

3 thoughts on “13 Things That Begin With “N”

  1. CountryDew says:

    Very interesting Thursday 13, and I am with you on a lot of it. I seem to have lost a large part of my early adult life because of dealing with past traumas (and too much medication, I suspect, from over-eager doctors). I put myself through college and barely remember it, though I must have done well! I like naan bread but cannot find the joy in hummus. Or olives. Or many other adult-ish foods. Keep writing. (Please tell me the same thing!)

  2. w0rdtrix says:

    I’m with you on taking naps, actually wish I could take one now, but I have a long work day today (right from one job to the next). I always find time for some sort of crafting, be it counted cross-stitch or making cards — it’s a great stress reliever, and you can get a lot done while sitting in front of the TV. As for notebooks, I almost always have a notebook, book and camera with me. A lot of writers find it easier to edit their own work by printing them out rather than staring at a computer screen — plus it’s a lot easier on the eyes. Mine</a.

Leave a Reply

