13 Things that Begin with “L”

Thursday1304

13 things from my world that begin with “L” — in no particular order:

  1. Learning. I love learning new things, especially things about people and cultures. I’m not so big on attending classes and being taught. I love learning by experiencing. Let me try a new-to-me food or find something new and interesting about a part of the world I’ve never visited, and I’m a happy camper.
  2. alarm clock.jpgLate: Although this isn’t my thing anymore, I was late for work every single day for 15 years before I quit my day job to write full-time. In my defense, I stayed late every single day as well. In fact, I stayed much, much later than I ever was late in the mornings but, still, I was late every day. I think I’m something of a rebel at heart. There is no word in the English language I hate more than “obedience,” and I resented someone else telling me that I had to be somewhere at a certain time every single day. I know that’s the nature of working for a living. I get it. It’s just…me.
  3. Literature: One of my favorite things in the world. I love, love, love, love, love books. I love stories of all kinds in all forms, really. TV. Movies. Books. Stories read and stories told. The Theater…
  4. Library: Yeah. I love the library. Always have. If I close my eyes and imagine hard enough, I can still see the old Bookmobile that used to come around my neighborhood when I was a kid. I can smell the smell of the books, which was somehow different than the smell of books at my library in town or the smell of books at my library today. One of the first things I do when I move to a new location is scope out the library and apply for a card.
  5. pen and paperLists: I’m a list-maker.   I make lists to get through the workday, the work week, or packing for a vacation. Once the list is made, however, I am not bound by it. In fact, I may never look at it again. There’s something about making the list that orders things in my brain and helps me remember, but I’m also big on going with the flow, which is impossible if one is wedded to some silly list.
  6. LagoonLagoon.It’s an amusement park that was near my house when I lived in Utah. When I was a kid living in Montana, a day at Lagoon was one of the things I most looked forward to during our yearly visits to family in Utah. My favorite ride was the Speedway, small cars that, once you were big enough, you  could actually drive along a track that looked like an actual road. You could accelerate and brake at will. Oh, how I loved that ride!
  7. Lies: Probably my pet of all pet peeves. I hate being lied to for a hundred different reasons, but probably the biggest is that when someone lies, they assume the person they’re lying to is too stupid to either recognize the truth or to see through the lie. While I’ve met a few people who are good at lying, most people just aren’t that good at it.
  8. MmmmmBegginStripLab:  Or, really, Labrador Retriever. I’ve had a few dogs in my lifetime, but a couple of them rank really high on the list of my favorite things. My two favorite dogs so far are my Doberman Pincer named Pride (a gift from a friend whom I adored until a neighbor poisoned him –the dog, not the friend), and Angel, my black Lab, who died two years ago. I still miss that dog.
  9. Left-handed: Being left-handed runs in my family. My mother is left-handed, my brother is left-handed, one of my two daughters is left-handed, and one of my two granddaughters is left-handed. My mother always told me that being left-handed is a sign of genius. I choose to believe her, but (see above) she may be a tiny bit prejudiced. My sister (not left-handed) is at least as smart as I am, if not smarter. She always got better grades, anyway, which may have been partly because she was much better able to apply herself. Studying just wasn’t my thing.
  10. Laughter: One of my favorite things in the world. I love to laugh. I love to be around people who make me laugh, especially when times are tough. I appreciate a proper amount of respect for a dire situation, of course, but once a situation’s direness is appropriately acknowledged, it’s time for a bit of irreverence and sarcasm. Let the laughter commence.
  11. Loyalty: It’s a trait I admire in people and one I try to exhibit in my own life. There are, of course, instances of misplaced loyalty, but I’m not a fan of those who turn away from someone they once called “friend” when the chips are down.
  12. Love: At least half of the books I’ve written during my career have been love stories, but romantic love isn’t the only kind of love there is. Love of family, love of friends, love of country, love of music, nature, art… you name it, love is a powerful emotion and it truly does make the world go ’round.
  13. gavel 2Lawyer: At one time in my life, I seriously considered becoming a lawyer. I was working in the legal field and I guess I showed some aptitude for the work because my former boss told me he’d pay for me to go to law school. He didn’t, of course, and it’s just as well. I don’t think I would have liked a career in the law all that much. I realized it probably wasn’t for me when I heard a (different) former boss refer to an issue of law as “sexy.” I didn’t see it as sexy at all, and realized I may not have the right stuff to make it my life. Now the placement of commas or an argument over whether or not to use semi-colons in dialogue — that’s sexy. …. I’m kidding.
Leave a Reply

