May the Road Rise Up to Meet You

Showing ShamrockIt’s St. Patrick’s Day today, and spring is coming.  At least, that’s what I’m told.  You’d never know it to look at my yard, though. It’s snowed twice in the past week, and we’re expecting another big snow storm to hit tonight.  I’m not complaining.  After six long years of drought, we need the moisture.  But I am ready for spring to arrive.  I’m ready for crocus, tulips and daffodils.  For the sunny burst of forsythia blooms and the scent of soil on the breeze.  I’m ready to turn off the heater, to open the windows and let the fresh air inside.

Meanwhile, I’m wearing a hint o’ the green, my nod to that drop or two of Irish blood coursing through my veins. It’s also my parents’ wedding anniversary today. They’ve been married 59 years today. 59! Being married that long is an incredible feat anytime, but especially in today’s society, where divorce is so prevalent and blended families are the norm.

Bride & GroomI could tell you that my parents have been married for 59 blissful years, but that wouldn’t be true. Like any married couple, they’ve had their share of ups and downs. They’ve disagreed–sometimes vehemently, but they’ve also stood together in the face of incredible odds.  The fact that they’ve stuck together during some rough times makes their 59 year marriage even more impressive to me.

So this one’s to you, Mom and Dad.  Happy Anniversary!  I love you both

Leave a Reply

