Packing Panic

I’m heading to San Diego this morning for RWA board meeting, and I don’t feel ready. Oh, I’ve read and studied the agenda and I’ve jotted down all the questions I have at the moment about the motions on the agenda, so I think I’m ready to work — I’m just not sure I’ve been focused enough to pack what I need.

luggage-suitcase-illustrationThis might be a hold-over panic from last March’s board meeting which took place just weeks after I nearly lost my daughter, less than a month after she came home from the hospital.  I was NOT ready to leave her, and my head wasn’t in the game. It was so not in the game, I didn’t even know what hotel I was supposed to go to in New York City until late the night before, and the only reason I figured it out then was because my mother called to ask which hotel I’d be staying at.  If she hadn’t called, I probably wouldn’t have figured out that I didn’t know where to go until I landed at JFK.

Once I got to my hotel room, I discovered that I’d forgotten a hairbrush, a tooth brush, toothpaste, deodorant, pajamas, and I don’t remember what else.  I didn’t want to sleep in the buff because the memory of having to race down the stairs at a hotel in Dallas at the national conference the previous year (thanks to a smoldering pizza box in an elevator) was still fresh in my mind.  New York might be a city that thinks it’s seen everything, but even it isn’t ready for the sight of me running down 18 flights of stairs in the buff.

My head’s in a better place as I get ready to head to the airport today, but I can’t shake the feeling that I’ve forgotten something important.    One thing’s for sure — if I have forgotten something, I’ll find out soon enough!

Leave a Reply

