It Doesn’t Hurt to Ask

Yesterday, I was whining about not finishing my art fact sheets for my next Superromance (tentatively called Her Secret Family.) The book is scheduled for a March 2006 release, but the book will be cover-conferenced very soon.

For those not familiar with the production timeline for a book, a cover conference is a meeting between with the editorial staff, the art department, and the sales department (and there may be others I’m forgetting) to decide upon the book’s cover. This usually happens 6 or 7 months before the book’s release, and maybe even sooner, depending on the publisher. And, of course, every author wants to do everything they possibly can do to make sure their book gets a glorious cover. Providing the art department with sketchy information isn’t the best way to do that.

Well, after whining about my mistake yesterday, I thought about the motto by which my youngest daughter lives her life: It doesn’t hurt to ask. She and I are very different in that regard. I believe (no doubt wrongly but based on past life experience) that sometimes it hurts very much indeed to ask. I tend not to ask, even when I should.

Last night, I decided to ask. I mean, what if my kid is right?

So I asked. I wrote to the editorial assistant (please, God, let me have her title right!) and explained my misunderstanding and asked if I could briefly have access to the file this morning so I could provide the rest of the information I wanted the art department to have.

Guess what? My daughter was right–at least in this instance. Not only did it not hurt much at all, but I’m much happier today!

Just for that, I’m going to share a picture from her graduation.

22273_1342765852371_7185056_n

 

That’s Vanessa on the left and Brynne on the right.

Now, it’s back to work for me.  I got stuck on my WIP (work in progress) a few days ago, and I haven’t been able to blast through the mental rock slide yet, but with a deadline breathing down my neck, I don’t have time to be stuck!

Muse, don’t fail me now!

Leave a Reply

