What Kind of Book Are You?

Maybe you’ve all seen this by now, but I just stumbled across it. It’s a test to see what kind of book you are. So I took it, and guess what I am:

The Trashy Romance

Really. Ooookay.

Let’s not get into all the reasons why I hate the label. Or maybe we should. I’m not sure whether to be glad or upset that the cover that comes up to illustrate the “trashy romance” is Nicholas Sparks’ The Notebook.

On the one hand, at least they’re not indulging in gender bias. On the other hand, they’re not indulging in gender bias, which means I can’t scream about how nobody takes books by women about relationships seriously. Kind of robs me of my righteous indignation.

Maybe I just want something to feel righteously indignant over today. This has been a rough year on several different fronts, and while it’s getting better in some areas, it’s been really stressful in other areas the past few weeks. Frankly, I’m tired of feeling stressed. It’s hard for me to be creative when I’m stressed. It’s hard to even concentrate, and it’s hard to finish a book on deadline when I can’t concentrate.
Angry Red Face clip artSo this is for everyone out there who insists upon keeping the stress level high.

I feel so much better now

 

Leave a Reply

