What’s in a Name?

A few days ago I was rambling about changing the name of a character, and I’m back this morning to confess that I’m still stuck in the same place I was. I’ve tried at least 30 different name for the heroine of this story and I’ve rejected probably 200 more, and I still can’t find her. The trouble is, I’ve written just as far as I can write thinking of her by a name that doesn’t work.

The hardest partRose Unsplash of writing any book (to me) is digging deep enough into the characters’ psyches to truly understand them. To know what they’re doing at any given point of the day, to know what they would do if they were faced with any situation or given a choice.  I’ve been able to write this far without knowing this heroine’s name for sure, knowing that I could come back and tweak what I’ve written to this point. But I’ve reached the point where I can’t go on unless I truly, truly know her — and I don’t

I have 2 more names that might work. I’m going to try my favorite of the two as I write today and just cross my fingers that it will fit her personality. That July 15th deadline is hurtling toward me just a little too fast!!!

Leave a Reply

