Searching for the Mood

I took the day off from writing yesterday, not because I should, but because I could. I had a thousand things I’d started around the house, every one of them something I’d never gotten back to finish. Besides which, I woke up sort of foggy-headed, and unless there’s a dire emergency (as in a deadline in 2 weeks or a deadline I passed 2 weeks ago) I’ve learned that it’s best to let myself take a day off when my head is filled with oatmeal.

Arm Wrestling.jpgFor the longest time, I didn’t do that. For years, I made myself write every day, come rain or shine, come family emergency or family picnic, I was at the computer producing pages. The discipline of writing was something I knew I had to teach myself because I am, frankly, not the most disciplined person in the world. If there’s something I should be doing, you can bet I’m working hardest at figuring out a way to avoid doing it.

I’m not sure why I’m that way. Is it some character flaw in me, or is this avoidance behavior typical of creative people? If my daughters are any indication, it’s typical of creative people. Then again, maybe it’s something I’ve taught them. I could cheerfully waste an entire day pondering that question, but I just realized this morning that the deadline for my next book is now less than a month away. And you know what that means, don’t you?

Yep…my instinct for avoidance just went into overdrive

Leave a Reply

